Upcoming Event – Capture The Citadels


To celebrate the recent release of Excessive Plus 2.1, the WASP Clan would like to invite you to Capture The Citadels – a 2 hour CTF FragFest featuring OpenArena’s baseoa and Excessive Plus’s plusD game styles.

If you or your Clan have what it takes to Capture The Citadels – that is, to conquer both game styles – then it’s time to play.  This FragFest is entirely team based and open to anyone regardless of skill level.  With 64 player slots, even those who simply want to observe are welcome to attend.  See you in the arena.


WHEN: Sunday, 22 August 2010.


TIME: 3:00 PM (15:00) — New York, USA.

Eastern European Time: 10:00 PM (22:00)

Central European Time: 9:00 PM (21:00)

Western European Time: 8:00 PM (20:00)

Atlantic Standard Time: 4:00 PM (16:00)

Eastern Standard Time: 3:00 PM (15:00)

Central Standard Time: 2:00 PM (14:00)

Mountain Standard Time: 1:00 PM (13:00)

Pacific Standard Time: 12:00 PM (12:00)

Time Conversion Link: http://www.worldtimezone.com


WHERE: FragFest – Capture The Citadels (67.231.251.116:27960). This New York, USA, based server will be created specifically for the event. That means it won’t exist until a few hours prior to the event. Players from Germany can expect a ping between 95ms and 125ms.

PLAYER SLOTS: 64 Total.  Additional spawn points, health, weapons, ammo, etc., created via entity files – an E+/CPMA mechanism for modifying or replacing map items without editing the underlying map.

REQUIREMENTS: The Excessive Plus Mod and 9 custom maps or simply the 9 custom maps or Auto Downloads enabled. Please note that Excessive Plus can be played server-side only, that is, you do not need to download the software. However, players with the Mod will have additional capabilities and therefore an advantage, and custom maps will probably look ugly because you need a Q3 Texture Replacement File like the one included with Excessive Plus.


Helpful Video Information: (MP4) (XviD)


FragFest Map Rotation:

Capture The Citadels Map Rotation Layout


Capture the Flag (CTF):
Like Team Death Match but with the added dimension of having to achieve an objective. Capture the Enemy’s Flag and take it back to your base to score a capture. Earn points for Flag Captures, Assisting in a Flag Capture, Defending your Flag, Returning your Flag, etc.

Return the Flag (RTF):
RTF is more difficult than regular Capture the Flag but it is also a better team game. The difference is that if your team flag is moved you cannot return it to your base by merely touching it. You have to take it back, so watch out!

Also, since merely touching your team flag is not enough to return it to your base, be very careful not to inadvertently take it to the enemy base as you attempt to capture their flag.

One Flag Capture the Flag (1FCTF):
In 1FCTF, you have to pick up the Neutral Flag (White Flag) in the middle of the map and try to get to the enemy’s base to score a capture. Don’t forget that it’s the enemy’s base and therefore well protected!

You may stand a better chance of winning if most of your team goes on offense. CTF based game types are the only game types in E+ where you can be the worst shooter but still win matches because in Excessive Plus CTF, speed usually beats accuracy.


A few screen shots from our 2nd OA FragFest

A few screen shots from our 1st OA FragFest


Permanent link to this article: https://oa.goquake.com/upcoming-event-capture-the-citadels/